How to make toast…and other stuff

Being sick sucks. It completely disrupts my routine. I can’t workout. I can’t do yoga. I can’t TEACH yoga (so that means I can’t work and make money to pay bills). Hell, I can’t even have a drink to drown my sorrows. Ok, well, maybe, I could make a hot toddy and make my dad proud…

I woke up on Monday with a tickle in my throat, said to myself “it’s just allergies”, only to get progressively worse throughout the day. Tuesday morning started with a headache, sore throat, congested chest, and overall grumpiness from getting approximately 57 minutes of sleep. It was a little late to try to get my classes covered, so I powered through 3 fitness classes, stayed as far away from my students as possible, and tried to whisper encouragement to my bootcamp style circuit classes in the afternoon (note: whispering “great job”, “you’re kicking ass”, and “dig deep, you only have a few seconds left” is not very motivating).

All day, all I could think about was chicken soup. Not chicken noodle soup, but a hearty, brothy, veggie filled chicken soup, with lots of healing herbs and spices. I bought my organic, free range rotisserie chicken, picked off all the meat and boiled up the carcass with leeks, onion, garlic, ginger, golden beets, and loads of turmeric (you do know that turmeric has amazing anti-inflammatory benefits, don’t you?). I boiled that shit up for about 45 minutes, strained all the solids out, and ended up with about 10 cups of amazing flavored broth.

I used that broth to make my comfort soup (this post is about comfort food, sick people comfort food, not hangover comfort food, that’s a whole different story). Soy sauce + coconut sugar + ginger + jalapenos + shredded chicken + bok choy + green peas + bean sprouts + cilantro + avocado. I like food with a cultural identity problem. This soup is part Asian, part Mexican. I sat on the couch, binge watching Bloodline on Netflix, and consumed about 4 cups of that soup. I instantly felt better.

Before going to bed, I mixed up some coconut oil + Thieves Oil, slathered it all over my feet (something about large pores in your feet allowing for best absorption of essential oils), put socks on and went to bed. Thank the Buddha Rob was not here, the bedroom smelled like a hospital room!

I woke up this morning feeling better, but still not good. Mostly feeling sorry for myself, I wandered around the house listlessly, trying to motivate myself into putting laundry away, or washing my umpteen dishes from my soup adventure last night. I did succeed in getting my yoga classes covered so that I don’t have to subject any more people to my hacking cough and “sultry” voice. I realized I had not eaten breakfast yet. What is that they say? Feed a cold, starve a fever?

One of my go-to comfort foods is toast. I LOVE toast. I threw a leftover baguette in the toaster oven, buttered it with approximately 1 lb. of Kerrygold, and topped that with homemade raspberry jam I brought back from my last visit to my granny’s pantry in Scotland. Every. Single. Bite. Was. Heaven. On earth. Pair that with a hot cup of tea, and that right there is childhood comfort.

image

TOAST!

As I sit here and sip my ginger turmeric hot honey tea, I close my eyes and pretend that the warm fire I feel in my chest from the chile infused honey is the warm fire chesty feeling you get when drinking a hot toddy with some REALLY strong scotch whisky.

Jules’ Culturally Confused Chicken Soup (omit all chicken if you’re vegetarian, duh)
Broth
Chicken carcass
Filtered H2O
Ginger (as much as you like)
Garlic (as much as you like, I used 3 big cloves)
Turmeric (I used approximately 2 tbsp)
1 golden beet, roughly chopped
1 yellow onion, roughly chopped
1 leek, roughly chopped
Salt
Boil all ingredients for ~ 45 minutes to an hour; strain liquid; discard solids.

Soup
3-4 cups broth for a healthy single serving
½ jalapeno, diced
1” piece of ginger, minced
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp coconut sugar
4 oz.shredded chicken
1 cup frozen green peas
1 bok choy, chopped
1 cup bean sprouts
Cilantro
½ avocado
Bring broth, jalapeno, ginger, soy sauce, sugar to a boil for 10 minutes; add chicken and peas, cook 2 minutes; add bok choy, cook 30 secs-1 minute; add bean sprouts. Remove from heat. Ladle soup into huge soup bowl. Add cilantro and avocado to the bowl. ENJOY!

Flavorful broth is key.

Flavorful broth is key.

Toast
Put bread in toaster/toaster oven. Toast to taste.
Spread butter while toast is still hot (and don’t be freaking stingy, spread the butter all the way to the edges of the bread)
Spoon homemade jam over melted butter
Eat.

Turmeric Ginger Hot Honey Tea
Boil filtered water, honey, turmeric, chopped ginger; strain water. Use flavored water with your favorite tea bag/loose leaf tea (my personal favorite right now is the aveda tea, it’s the bomb).

This entry was posted in Food, Health and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

